You are here
Home > Uncategorized > India honours its sporting greatest at dazzling Nationwide awards ceremony | Extra sports activities Information

India honours its sporting greatest at dazzling Nationwide awards ceremony | Extra sports activities Information

NEW DELHI: Olympic champion javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra, veteran lady cricketer Mithali Raj and history-making Paralympic stars shared the highlight as an unprecedented 12 sportspersons have been introduced with India’s highest sporting honour — the Main Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna — by President Ram Nath Kovind right here on Saturday.
In a glittering operate organised on the Durbar Corridor of the Rashtrapati Bhawan right here, the President recognised the nation’s unparalleled Olympic and Paralympic performances.
The occasion turned an in-person affair this time after going surfing the earlier 12 months as a result of COVID-19 pandemic.
The star attraction of the night was Chopra, who obtained his Khel Ratna award amid thunderous applause from the choose dignitaries current on the specifically organised operate.

Chopra was the primary among the many Khel Ratna awardees to obtain the honour.
Apart from the 23-year-old star, different recipients of the Khel Ratna recognition, have been Olympic bronze-winning Indian males’s hockey group captain Manpreet Singh, veteran goalkeeper PR Sreejesh, Olympic silver-medallist wrestler Ravi Dahiya, Olympic bronze-winning boxer Lovlina Borgohain and Mithali.

Sunil Chhetri turned the primary footballer to be bestowed the award, a well-deserved recognition for conserving tempo with the likes of Lionel Messi in scoring worldwide objectives.
Paralympic gold-winners Avani Lekhara (Capturing), Sumit Antil (Athletics), Pramod Bhagat (Badminton), Krishna Nagar (Badminton), Manish Narwal (Capturing) have been additionally given the Khel Ratna.

Together with 12 Khel Ratnas, India this 12 months has 35 Arjuna awardees. The lengthy listing this 12 months was a results of the historic medal hauls on the Olympics (7) and Paralympics (19).

The occasion is historically held on August 29 yearly to commemorate the start anniversary of hockey legend Main Dhyan Chand.
The Khel Ratna award carries a money prize purse of Rs 25 lakh, a medal a scroll of honour.
The Arjuna award carries a prize cash of Rs 15 lakh, a bronze statue and a scroll of honour.
Current at Saturday’s ceremony was sports activities minister Anurag Thakur together with a number of different dignitaries, together with his predecessor Kiren Rijiju.

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply